eden

Sometimes, all these years later, I forget what I know and begin to think…or worse, to talk.  This is seldom a good thing, this move from my heart to my head, especially it seems when my mouth intercedes. Rationality can never completely wrap itself around experience, and language can’t begin to express encounter. Thank god for the garden.

 

The garden is. Without need for explanation. Without words. Without violation or fear, right or wrong, heartache or headache. Though I suppose I know a few folks for whom this isn’t entirely true, it is for me a place to forget what I think and to simply know.

 

Take the way Beauty and Dirt hold hands, for instance, the way they need each other. Or the way Beauty lies down at the end of the day and lets itself be surrounded by the dark, drinking in its moisture-laden breath. The way my hands start out in gloves but lose themselves along the way to dirt’s appeal. The way I try again and earth forgives my foolishness. The way my heart delights in morning’s find.

 

The way.

 

Ideas of God get tripped up by the tongue. Perhaps it would be best if we followed suit of early authors of the divine when instinct advised them to describe It as a garden. I am in love with God the way I am with the garden– fearlessly, foolishly, forgivingly. I don’t care if none of it makes sense, if the phlox keeps coming up each year beneath the goldenrod though I dig it out each year, if sometimes every single mountain laurel dies and the bluebirds move to the neighbor’s box, I just want to lie down in it and breathe.

 

And you? who read this? I don’t care what you think. Tell me what you know!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Traildancer
    May 15, 2011 @ 13:59:26

    I love how you explain your relationship to your Garden (and God!) Very beautifully written.
    I too feel totally alive and fully present when I am outside working on my property be it planting, replanting, sowing, reaping, watering, preparing, maintaining , coaxing, watching, imagining, or admiring. And when I touch the Earth, I touch the essence of life itself: beauty, destruction, birth, dealth, cooperation, invasion, light, shadow, growth, blight, rebirth, hope, roots, fruits, sex (birds and the bees!), and cycles all grounded in acceptance.
    And like you said in your blog, “The garden is. Without need for explanation. Without words.” I too disappear in a Garden. My ordinary awareness is transformed into Divine Awareness and it is all beyond words…and in that quiet, in that stillness, is the serenity of I Am.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

M.C. Reardon

photographer~painter~poet

Emmaatlast's Weblog

a place to be

First Sip

a place to be

Abbey of the Arts

Transformative Living through Contemplative & Expressive Arts

The Kitchen Door

a place to be

Canoeguy's Blog

For those interested in restoring wood-canvas canoes

a place to be

The Dragonfly Woman

Aquatic entomologist with a blogging habit

Nature's Place

The place of Nature in the 'ordinary' Spiritual Life through Meditation using Macro Photography to illustrate.

Small Things With Love

Finding meaning in the everyday

Adventure Bound

The only things you will regret are the risks you don't take

Katrina Kenison

celebrating the gift of an ordinary day

UnTangled

tell a redemptive story with your life. now.

