Canticle 2 – Magnificat

O Love, my soul magnifies you

My spirit dances in Your Presence

As You lovingly attend to the body

Of Your Beloved who bears You to life.

 

You delight to reveal yourself to me

Your surprises fill me with bliss

Ravished by Beauty and Mystery

The Presence of You makes me blessed

 

You come to my heart in my sorrow

Your vow of compassion is real

The strength of Your tenderness quiets

Shames lifted to bathe in Your light

 

My clinging for cover has ended

You have seen me and banished my fear

My emptiness is filled with your Being

For life’s rations I hunger no more

 

 

O Love, my soul magnifies you

My spirit dances in Your Presence

As You lovingly attend to the body

Of Your Beloved who bears You to life.

 

May my life for you be a blessing

That ripples thru time like a fountain

You’ve sanctified me to Yourself

May we likewise make holy your name

 

Lover, Beloved, Love

Outpouring, Receiving, Becoming

Mystery, Beauty, Desire

 

Here in this moment,  as always

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Canticle – Zachariah’s song

Zachariah’s Song, a new translation

 

Blessed are You, Lover of all

Who abide with and awaken your people

You raise within us the Love

That we have been born to be

 

You whisper to us holy blessings

Through the mouth of the ancient ones

Lovesongs of remembrance to free us

From deceptions and fears that oppress

 

Throughout the whole of humanity

You keep covenant with your people

Upholding the commitment you made

To be compassion here on earth

 

Love, free us from all our doubt

That we might be Love through our days

To stand in the light of Your Love

As a Beloved and Loving presence

 

As for myself, let me be called

To be Love here in this place

To Love others as I have been loved

And ease them of their despair

 

Through Your Infinite Lovingkindness

May the Dayspring of Light at last dawn

On those in shadows and darkness

to guide them on paths of peace

 

With grateful heart, I bless You

Who entrust me to make Your Love real

For the gift of Christ in this moment

Who remembers me to who I am